Home > Study Mathematics > Mathematics (doctoral programme)

Mathematics (academic year 2017/18)

Doctoral programme

Coordinator: prof. dr. A. Simpson

The Doctoral Programme in Mathematics is a third cycle Bologna degree with 180 ECTS credits. Students are required to have finished a second cycle Bologna degree (or equivalent) in mathematics or a related field. The objective of the doctoral programme is to prepare the students for independent mathematical research at the highest level.

The programme consists of the course work and the individual research under the supervision of an advisor, resulting in a doctoral thesis. The official duration of the programme is 6 semesters (3 years), however most of the students complete the programme within 4 years.

To graduate, students have to complete the following: ­


Year 1
Three electives 18
Predoctoral exam 6
Individual study 1 6
Seminar 1 6
Research 1 24
Year 2
Two electives 12
Individual study 2 6
Seminar 2 6
Research 2 36
Year 3
Research 3 54
Thesis defence 6

A student has to select at least 60 credits every year.

Courses offered in the academic year 2017/18 will be Topics in discrete mathematics: graph colorings (lecturer Škrekovski, autumn semester) and Topics in analysis: operator ideals and their applications (lecturer Kostenko, spring semester).

All electives in Years 1 and 2

Topics in algebra 6
Topics in analysis 6
Topics in discrete mathematics 6
Topics in financial mathematics 6
Topics in geometry 6
Topics in numerical matheamtics 6
Topics in mathematical foundations of computer science 6
Topics in topology 6
Topics in probability and statistics 6

Module Mathematics education

At the Department of Mathematics, we also offer the doctoral programme Mathematics education. We expect candidates with excellent mathematical abilities and an exceptional love of teaching. The programme is specific, and we would encourage candidates to get in touch before enrolling. The department study committee will assign courses and suggest an advisor. The coordinator is doc. dr. D. Kobal.