Preskoči na glavno vsebino

EUROCC2 - National Competence Centres in the framework of EuroHPC


Project: EUROCC2

Title: National Competence Centres in the framework of EuroHPC

Period: 1. 1. 2023 - 31. 12. 2025

The Slovenian National Competence Centre consortium:

Arnes (leading organization)

Arctur d.o.o.

“Jožef Stefan” Institute

University of Ljubljana (Faculty of Mathematics and Physics)

University of Maribor

Principal investigator UL FMF: Borut Paul Kerševan

Project description:

EuroCC 2 (EuroHPC National Competence Centres – Phase 2) is the continuation of the EuroCC project, which ended at the end of 2022. It is part of the European Union’s Digital Europe programme, in which all participating countries are responsible for continuing and developing the activities of the National Competence Centres (NCCs) in the field of High-Performance Computing (HPC) in their countries.

National Competence Centres are tasked with coordinating activities at national level in all areas related to HPC, as well as serving as the main point of contact for users in science, industry, current and future HPC professionals, and the general public. The project, which involves 39 members and associate members, is coordinated by the University of Stuttgart (HLRS – Stuttgart Supercomputing Centre).

The first Euro CC project aimed to raise the level of use of HPC, HPDA and AI technologies in the participating countries. In order to enable the use of HPC by different target user groups, National Competence Centres (NCCs) have been set up, which are responsible for reviewing and documenting core competences in the areas of HPC, HPDA and AI. The main goal of EuroCC 2 to continue and upgrade the operation of National Competence Centres in 33 countries and to ensure that they foster a strong national network providing services to their users in industry, academia and public administration, while at the same time laying the foundations for a strong European level of competences and services.

»EuroCC 2 is funded by the European Union. Funded by the Joint Undertaking for High Performance Computing (EuroHPC JU) as well as partner countries Germany, Bulgaria, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Norway, Turkey, the Republic of North Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro, and Serbia, under grant agreement No 951732 101101903.«